Media Centre

Daily Media Briefing: Thursday 15th November 2012

Good Morning from the Church of England Communications Office

Issued at 09.20 by sj

Feria

Tomorrow: Margaret, queen, philanthropist, 1093
Edmund Rich, archbishop, 1240

1. Today's press coverage

Mail p52

Short states 'Who knew? Fifty Bibles are sold around the world every minute'.

Times p24, Tel p2

Report that 'Religion has moved from being regarded as a matter of truth and authority to being seen as a "leisure activity" with grave possible consequences for society, the future Archbishop of Canterbury said last night'.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/9679324/Christians-should-not-be-afraid-to-refer-to-their-faith-says-new-Archbishop.html

Tel (Business) p2, Ind p25

Reports that 'God met Mammon at the Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards on Tuesday' as Bishop of Durham questioned RBS boss Stephen Hester.

Tel

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/in-which-english-institution-could-an-expenses-fraud-go-to-prison-come-back-to-his-old-job-and-then-claim-expenses-again-clue-picture-8316776.html?origin=internalSearch

Times p2

Leader column argues that 'Bishop Welby is right to ask businesses to think hard about their purpose'.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/leaders/article3600361.ece

Times p32, Tel p30

Matthew Parris (Times) on similarities between Bishop Justin Welby, the Governor of the Bank of England and his deputy and the chairman of the BBC.

and scroll down

Christopher Howse (Tel) encourages Lambeth Palace to give Bishop Justin a doctorate.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/royal-mail/9678245/The-Future-has-arrived-by-post-and-its-full-of-junk.html and scroll down

Tel p2

Report that 'David Cameron has misled the public over levels of support for gay marriage among Tory voters, according to the pollster whose survey he quoted'.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/9679323/David-Cameron-misled-public-over-gay-marriage-support.html

 

Letters

Times p35 - Brigadier M J Meardon, John Middleditch on 'cathedrals and their upkeep'.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/letters/article3600064.ece

Obituaries

Tel p39 - The Rt Rev Kenneth Cragg - 'theologian who sought to reconcile Christianity and Islam, even before the age of rising fundamentalism'.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obituaries/9678724/The-Rt-Rev-Kenneth-Cragg.html

Ends

 

Newspaper Web links with most or all stories -

Daily Mail              http://www.dailymail.co.uk/

Daily Mirror           http://www.mirror.co.uk

FT                         http://www.ft.com

Guardian               http://guardian.co.uk

Independent titles http://www.independent.co.uk

Observer               http://www.observer.co.uk

People                             http://www.people.co.uk

Sun                       http://www.the-sun.co.uk

Sunday Mirror       http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk

Sunday Times        http://www.sunday-times.co.uk

Telegraph titles     http://www.telegraph.co.uk

Times                    http://www.thetimes.co.uk

 

With some stories

Daily Express        http://www.express.co.uk

Daily Star              http://www.dailystar.co.uk

Ev Standard           http://www.standard.co.uk

 

Church press

Baptist Times        http://www.baptist.org.uk/btnews.htm

Catholic Herald     http://www.catholicherald.co.uk

CEN                      http://www.churchnewspaper.com

Church Times        http://www.churchtimes.co.uk/front.asp

Methodist Recorder         http://www.methodistrecorder.co.uk/index.htm

Tablet                    http://www.thetablet.co.uk

 

Other links

Ananova                http://www.ananova.com

BBC                      http://bbc.co.uk

Channel 4             http://www.channel4.com

Private Eye            http://www.private-eye.co.uk

Reuters                 http://www.reuters.co.uk