Pastoral and Closed Churches

Our Department plays two important roles within the Church Commissioners, and the wider Church of England.

The Pastoral Division supports the Mission and Pastoral Committee in dealing with pastoral reorganisation, parsonage and glebe matters, while the Closed Churches Division supports the Church Buildings (Uses & Disposals) Committee in settling the future of churches closed for regular public worship.

On 1 July 2012 the Mission and Pastoral Measure 2011 came into effect. The new Code of Practice, guidance notes and related forms and amended legal documentation has now been uploaded onto the website and may be found via the related links on the sidebar.

Please take care using any documents which refer to the Pastoral Measure 1983, this has been repealed and replaced by the 2011 Measure. If you cannot find any information you require please speak to your usual staff contact who will be able to assist.


If you have a general enquiry or comments about these web pages please contact the Closed Churches Division