About General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. It has powers in the following areas:

Legislation by Measure

To pass Measures which, if approved by resolution of each House of Parliament, receive Royal Assent and thereby become part of the law of England.

Legislation by Canon

To legislate by Canon, subject to Royal Licence and Assent.

Relations with other Churches

To regulate the Church of England's relations with other churches and to make provisions for matters relating to worship and doctrine. It can make provision by Act of Synod, regulation or other instrument in cases where legislation by or under a Measure or Canon is not necessary.

Liturgy and Doctrinal Assent

To approve, amend, continue or discontinue liturgies and make provision for any matter (except the publication of banns of marriage) to which rubrics of the Book of Common Prayer relate and to ensure that the forms of service contained in the Book of Common Prayer continue to be available for use in the Church of England. The Synod also decides the form in which ministers and officers of the Church of England are required to assent to the doctrine of the Church of England (the Declaration of Assent).


To consider any other matters of religious or public interest.


To approve (or reject) the central Church budget each year.


Non-legislative business transacted 2015-2020

Please click here to see a summary of the legislative and non-legislative business approved by the General Synod during the current Quinquennium. Note, if you wish to consult the official list of Business Done at any group of sessions you will need to visit the "Agenda and Papers" page for that specific group of sessions.